University of Connecticut
Neag School of Education
How to
& Outreach
Alumni &
Neag School of Education Department of Educational Psychology


Welcome to the Department of Educational Psychology

The Department of Educational Psychology prepares graduates to become leaders and/or researchers and policy-makers in their respective communities of learning at the local, state and national level.

Our department is comprised of nationally and internationally renowned scholars in seven fields of study including: cognition and instruction; counseling psychology; gifted education and talent development; learning technology; measurement, evaluation and assessment; school counseling; and special education.

For the past 15 years, we've been the home of the National Research Center on the Gifted and Talented and most recently have become the primary partner in the national center for Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports. Our New Literacies Research Lab is on the cutting-edge of the critical new skills and strategies needed by students to be successful at reading and learning with online information. Our Center on Postsecondary Education and Disability is the national leader in the preparation of faculty and other professionals in promoting equal educational access for students with cognitive disabilities. We have recently hired several outstanding faculty members who are helping us develop centers of excellence in two critical areas: Measurement, Evaluation and Assessment and Behavioral Education and Research.

In addition to their research focusing on critical issues in education, our faculty members hold positions of leadership in national organizations, including the National Reading Conference, the National Association for Gifted Children, American Education in Research Association and the Higher Education Consortium for Special Education -- to name a few. They serve on editorial boards of some of the nation's leading journals, including School Psychology Quarterly, Education Technology Research and Development Journal, and School Psychology Review. They also receive countless honors in research and scholarship at the University and national levels. Two faculty members in particular: Dr. Thomas Kehle and Dr. Melissa Bray have earned the distinct and unusual honor of being named both a Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science and Fellow of the American Psychological Association.

Three of the Neag School's endowed faculty are department members: Dr. Joseph Renzulli, the Raymond and Lynn Neag Chair of Gifted Education and Talent Development; Dr. Donald J. Leu, Jr., the John and Maria Neag Chair in Literacy and Technology; and Dr. George Sugai, the Carole J. Neag Chair in Special Education.



Privacy Statement         A-Z Index         Maps & Directions Neag School of Education
Dept. of Educational Psychology
249 Glenbrook Road, Unit 2064
Storrs, Connecticut 06269
Phone: (860) 486-4031
Fax: (860) 486-0180